Mechanics for kick and snare drum

Salvaged mechanics

I think that the funniest and most creative part of all this project was building the mechanics.
I mean, I could have bought specific components. For a project like mine, if I really needed to buy every single screw, my budget would have exploded.
I have started walking around the flat knocking on everything to hear how it sounded, and I finally run into a wooden box.

The drumbox

This box gave me the inspiration of building something like a cajon.
The box had an opening lid fixed with two hinges. Two precious hinges 🙂 I saved them for later, and I glued the opening. After that the glue was dry, I found that the box sounded too opaque when knocking on it. I have then cut a big hole in the back with the hacksaw. Much better. Continue reading